Charles Breithaupt – Executive Director, University Interscholastic League

Dr. Charles Breithaupt was named Executive Director of the University Interscholastic League in January of 2009. He is also an Associate Vice President at the University of Texas at Austin. He oversees the academic, music and athletic competition for nearly 1,500 high schools, 1,600 middle schools and 2,000 elementary schools in the state of Texas. Prior to being named Executive Director, he served as the Associate UIL Director and State Director of Athletics for 14 years. He has been with the UIL since his employment in 1992, following 17 years in public education as a teacher, coach, athletic director and principal. Dr. Breithaupt served as a head basketball coach for 14 years prior to joining the UIL. His teams won 81% of their games and advanced to the playoffs all 14 years while two of his teams advanced to the state finals, winning the championship in 1991. He was named Texas State Coach of the Year in 1991.

Marmion Dambrino ­­­- Retired Houston ISD Director of Athletics

Marmion was the Houston ISD Director of Athletics for 13 years before her retirement. Some of her many accomplishments include providing leadership development opportunities for over 1100 coaches and administrators.  She served the THSADA as the Vendor Committee Chair for the THSADA State Conference and served on the State Conference Planning Committee.  Marmion is known for her tremendous leadership and passion for providing opportunities for the growth and development of student athletes in Houston ISD.

Steve Williams – Allen ISD Director of Athletics

Steve has worked in Allen ISD for a total of 44 years, while serving as Director of Athletics for the last 24.  During that time the Allen ISD Athletic Department has thrived under his leadership.  Throughout his tenure Allen teams have won an amazing total of 28 State Championships! Steve was voted Region 3 Athletic Administrator of the Year for the 2017-2018 school year.

Other Award Recipients

THSADA Joe Bill Fox Award

Sam Tipton – Executive Director, Texas Girls Coaches Association


National Awards

Kelly Reeves State Award of Merit – Stacey Segal, Dallas ISD

NFHS Citation Award – Paige Hershey, Spring Branch ISD

NIAAA Distinguished Service Award – Shawn Pratt, McKinney ISD

NIAAA Frank Kovaleski Professional Development Award – Andre Walker, Houston ISD

NIAAA Hall of Fame – Ruth Meredith, Ysleta ISD (retired)