Prior to the year 1955, there were only six full-time Athletic Directors in the State of Texas. They were:

Joe Tusa-Houston ISD

Claud H. Kellam-San Antonio ISD

Herman Clark-Fort Worth ISD

P.C. Cobb-Dallas ISD

L.W. McConachie-El Paso ISD (Later Executive VP of the THSCA)

Toney Burger – Austin ISD

School populations grew rapidly and the need for more oversight of athletic programs became very evident. Soon more Athletic Directors were added to the following cities:

Dee Walker-Amarillo ISD

Buddy Brothers-Lubbock ISD

Tonto Coleman-Ector County ISD

Chatter Allen-Corpus Christi ISD

The timing was almost perfect for the creation of the Texas High School Athletic Directors Association. In the spring of 1970, Athletic Directors from across Texas and the National Health/Physical Education Association met in Houston at the Rice Hotel. At that time many Athletic Directors also served as administrators over health and physical education in their districts. While attending this meeting it was decided by those directors in attendance that they have a sub-meeting to share specific ideas and ask questions. Joe Tusa of Houston ISD arranged the meeting location. Those individuals in attendance at the first meeting were:

Joe Tusa-Houston ISD

Joe Golding-Wichita Falls ISD

Chuck Moser-Abilene ISD

Shorty Lawson-Abilene ISD

Stoney Phillips-Pasadena ISD

Pete Sultis-Goose Creek ISD

Lon Goldstein-Fort Worth ISD

James Willingham-Fort Worth ISD

Bob Shelton-Dallas ISD

Barry Ehlert-San Antonio ISD

Tom Pruitt-Victoria ISD

Howland Reich-Port Arthur ISD

Homer Johnson-Garland ISD

Allan Boren-Klein ISD

C.E. Haynes-Corpus Christi ISD

Gerald Meyers-Pasadena ISD

Bob Harrell-Irving ISD

Bull Workman-Arlington ISD

Winlon Knowles-Pine Tree ISD

Armando Gutierrez-El Paso ISD

Joe Bill Fox-North East ISD

Kelly Horn-North East ISD (First Director of Athletics at NEISD)

During this meeting the discussion moved to forming a state organization specifically for athletic administrators. The new group would continue close ties with the THSCA but have an independent charter. The decision was made to form the Texas High School Athletic Directors Association. The first officers of this new Association were:

Joe Bill Fox-President

Stoney Phillips-Vice President

Lon Goldstein-Secretary

The group decided to hold the first independent meeting of the THSADA in San Antonio the week after the state basketball tournament in 1971. The main goals established at this time were to improve the means of communication within the schools of Texas and fill a much needed role in athletic administration within schools districts and throughout the State of Texas.

The first meeting of the THSADA was held in San Antonio in 1971 at the La Mansion Hotel and was deemed a success.  There was no budget allocated so the hotel allowed the THSADA to defer payment until after the 1971 Conference. Attendance was over 50 individuals. The next two meetings were in the same hotel with Lon Goldstein and Stoney Phillips presiding.

I cannot compliment these early day members enough for their willingness to contribute in any way possible. I cannot begin to list the names of those involved but every large school district and section of the state was represented. These early day leaders have paved the way for an organization that is held in such high esteem as it is today”. Joe Bill Fox-former President-THSADA.

With the growth and elevated profile of the Texas High School Athletic Directors Association, the first ever Executive Director of the THSADA was selected in March, 2012.  Rusty Dowling, formerly Director of Athletics for the Katy ISD, was hired to oversee the organizational and administrative concerns of the THSADA.

The leadership model of the THSADA was changed in July of 2014 to better represent all areas of the State of Texas.  An annual membership election for the office of Vice President takes place every year with the process of the VP moving through the administrative positions of Vice President, then to President-elect then eventually into the position of President.  Three additional Board members were selected to fully represent all eight regions of the THSADA. The THSADA was able to hire Bob DeJonge-former AD at Keller ISD as it’s first Assistant Executive Director and the Board Secretary position was purposed to permanent, non-voting members of the Board.

The event calendar for the THSADA became more established.  Along with the annual THSADA State Conference, the THSADA has active participation in the summer TGCA and THSCA Summer Conventions as well as involvement in the regular monthly Region meetings that occur throughout the state.  The establishment of committee’s were organized to assist the THSADA in doing the work of the Association was also critical and allowed for additional member engagement.

The THSADA conducted it’s first-ever Fall Forum that was held September 23-24, 2019 in San Antonio at the Northside ISD Athletic Complex.  It was very successful as it allowed Athletic Administrators from around the state to come together for networking and TAAC classes. Itwill become a yearly event for THSADA

THSADA, now in its 51st year, is the professional and educational Association for more than 1,400 secondary athletics administrators at more than 1,800 institutions throughout the State of Texas.  More than 700 athletics administrators annually attend THSADA’s State Conference. THSADA members manage over $600 million dollars in athletic budget considerations for over one million student-athletes.